International Shipping Available!

Are You There Alone? 4 Cassettes

Are You There Alone? 4 Cassettes

Regular price
12.810 KD
Sale price
9.610 KD
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Plot

In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioners Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne OMalley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it. As a journalist, Suzanne OMalley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, OMalley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorneys and sheriffs offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses. OMalley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041. OMalleys exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case. In Are You There Alone? OMalley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system.

Book Details

Author Suzanne OMalley; Betty Baker
Publication Year 2004
Publisher
Format Audio Cassette
ISBN 9780743536264
Number of Pages
Contact to seller ×
Query submitted